[an error occurred while processing this directive]
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
On-Air Now
Listen Live

7 new faces in Keys as 3 Ministers lose their seats

Thu, 29 Sep 2011

All the General Election results are now in, and 3 Ministers have lost their seats

The first count to be declared was Malew and Santon where Graham Cregeen has been re-elected.

Mr Cregeen took a large percentage of the total votes cast, with 887.

Gareth Kelly got 262 votes and John Hanson 87.


Alf Cannan has been elected in Michael.

The son of the outgoing member David Cannan topped the polls with 1,014.

David Talbot polled 325 and Paul Heavey 244


Eddie Teare has been re-elected in Ayre.

He also took a high percentage of votes with 1,060. That compares with 134 for Pat Ayres amd 429 for Andrew Newington-Bridges.


Despite what the exit polls said, David Anderson has been re-elected in Glen Faba.

He got 649 votes.

Geoffrey Boot got 557 and Matthew Wadsworth 189.


Tim Crookall is re-elected in Peel.

He polled 646 in a closely fought contest.

Leslie Hanson took 615 votes, Ray Harmer 522, Arran Kaighen 265 and Roger Gimbert 252.


The first casualty of the night was Social Care Minister Martyn Quayle.

Howard Quayle won the elected in Middle with 922.

Paul Crain was second with 560.

Martyn Quayle got 466 and Juan Cottier 250.


In Rushen:

Quintin Gill lost his seat.

Laurence Skelly is the new member elected there.

Juan Watterson and Phil Gawne were re-elected.


In Douglas West, John Shimmin topped the poll with 1316 votes, followed by Geoff Corkish with 1017. They both keep their seats

Liberal Vannin Candidate Chris Thomas received 913 votes.

John Skinner polled 732.


Douglas East saw Brenda Cannell and Chris Robertshaw re-election.

Mr Robertshaw, who was elected in a by-election in May last year, polled the most votes with 915.

Mrs Cannell came second with 757.

Of the remaining candidates, Paul Moulton received 490, Geraldine O'Neill received 441, Richard Kissack got 238 and John Karran received 123.


There was no change in Douglas North with John Houghton gaining the most votes ahead of Bill Henderson in 2nd.

Mr Houghton received 1376 with Mr Henderson gaining 1257.

Theo Fleurbaay was 3rd with 869 and Liberal Vannin Candidate Peter Hill received 722.


The only change in the Douglas constituencies came in Douglas South where Liberal Vannin Party candidate Kate Beecroft has been elected.

She unseats Bill Malarkey, with 1191 votes to Mr Malarkey's 1191.

David Cretney topped to Douglas South poll with 1749.


Former Castletown Commissioner Richard Ronan gained the seat vacated by Tony Brown in Castletown.

He received 524 votes.

He was closely followed by school teacher Jason Moorhouse on 280.

3rd was Mahendra Patel, Colin Leather came 4th, Carol Quine 5th and David Pownall 6th.


Treasury Minister Anne Craine lost her seat in Ramsey.

She finished 3rd in the 2 seat constituency.

Allan Bell topped the poll with 1988, whilst Leonard Singer came 2nd with 1911.

Mrs Craine polled 1817.


Another Minister missed out in Onchan.

Home Affairs Minister Adrian Earnshaw finished 4th.

The 3 seats went to Peter Karran with 2704, Zac Hall with 1812 and David Quirk with 1594


The final constituency to return was Garff.

Steve Rodan polled a huge majority with 1725 votes.

The only challenger, Nigel Dobson, received 136.











Subscribe to get Energy FM News direct to your mobile device

You can get Energy FM News delivered direct to your mobile device using one of the following methods.

  • In the Apple News App on iOS search for Energy FM IOM and then just add it to your favourites
  • In the Google News & Weather App just search for Energy FM and then add us as a customised section
  • If you use an RSS Reader then just add our feed to your app, click here for our news RSS feed