Latest News Headlines
On-Air Now
Listen Live

Bell announces his Council of Ministers

Fri, 14 Oct 2011

The Council of Minister's with Lieutenant Governor Adam Wood
The Council of Minister's with Lieutenant Governor Adam Wood

Liberal Vannin leader Peter Karran is taking up a Ministerial role under new Chief Minister Allan Bell.

Mr Karran has been named as the Minister for Education and Children.

As expected, John Shimmin will head up the Department of Economic Development, and Eddie Teare is in charge of the Island's budget as Treasury Minister.

There are several new names in the Council of Ministers.

Juan Watterson will take charge of the Department of Home Affairs, Tim Crookall takes over at the Department of Community, Culture and Leisure and Chris Robertshaw is the new Social Care Minister.

David Anderson is the only unchanged role, he continues as Health Minister.

Phil Gawne moves to the Environment, Food and Agriculture, while David Cretney takes over at Infrastructure.



Subscribe to get Energy FM News direct to your mobile device

You can get Energy FM News delivered direct to your mobile device using one of the following methods.

  • In the Apple News App on iOS search for Energy FM IOM and then just add it to your favourites
  • In the Google News & Weather App just search for Energy FM and then add us as a customised section
  • If you use an RSS Reader then just add our feed to your app, click here for our news RSS feed