[an error occurred while processing this directive]
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
On-Air Now
Listen Live


Wed, 24 Aug 2011

The second qualifying session at the 2011 Manx Grand Prix was red flagged at around 19.20 last night following an incident just after Milntown in the North of the Island. A bike was reported to be on fire, the rider involved, Brian Purdey from Onchan, Isle of Man was taken by airmed to Nobles Hospital where he was later reported to be in a stable condition.

Earlier in the session Dean Harrison and Steve Oates took out the 4 newcomers who didn’t complete their speed-controlled lap the previous evening at around 18.35 following a short delay while marshals were moved around the course. Stuart Osborne, Bobby McMullen, American Tony Bakker and Swiss Rider Walo Bertschinger, who went out on the Paton that he is racing in the 500cc Classic Grand Prix class rather than the Honda CBR 599cc that he will ride in the Newcomer A race, were required to complete a guided lap before their first experience of a closed road-qualifying lap.

Osborne was reported to have stopped at near Union Mills, which means that he is unable to qualify for Saturday’s newcomers race but the remaining three were able to complete the lap and can now start their qualifying campaign in earnest.

With conditions reported as dry all around the course, the 350cc/250cc’s were the first on the track, which was led out by the Suzuki mounted Tom Jackson (52) and Peter Wakefield (51). However, with the Classics, Classic Superbike, Junior Post Classic, Lightweight and Newcomer machines all out on the course, the session was red flagged following the incident on the approach to Ramsey.

The riders were brought back to the grandstand by the travelling marshals and the session was eventually abandoned shortly before 8pm by Clerk of the Course Phil Taubman as a result of the ongoing clear up operation at the incident and the fading light.

Tonight’s session sees the Senior, Junior, SuperTwin and newcomers A classes away at 18.20, followed by the Classic, Classic Superbike, Junior Post Classic, Lightweight and Newcomers B at 19.10.

Bookmark and Share